Progress

The last couple of weeks have felt quite summery. The Swallows are settling in, more and more Swifts are arriving everyday, the warblers are in full song, and a lot of butterflies have sprung into life.

Here’s a Holly Blue that managed to stay still just long enough for me to snap it… didn’t want to open up and show me the brilliant-blue upperside of its wings, but still pretty!

hollyblue

And here’s a Comma catching some rays and displaying its characteristic ragged wing margins…

comma

I’ve been spending a lot of time out and have discovered quite a few new nests and potential sites, but for now I would like to update you on the progress of the Dunnocks and Greenfinches that I’ve been monitoring.

If you remember, my bestie James and I discovered a Dunnock’s nest in the alleyway behind our flat a couple of weeks back – you know, the one with amazingly bright blue
eggs.

dun1

Well they’ve hatched and the chicks are looking strong!

dunchick

As the nest is so close to the flat, and quite exposed, I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to test out the remote control for my camera, and try and get a shot of one of the adults at the nest. The nest is quite high so I had to precariously balance my tripod on top of our tallest stool to get the nest in frame. (Excuse the quality, taken hastily with phone.)

13223441_10208887882375271_1429477961_o

I was aware that the presence of the camera might disturb the birds so I kept an ear out for alarming and kept an eye on my watch – if the adult didn’t approach the nest after too long I would abandon my project. Though to my delight the parent came back to feed its young after only about ten minutes of waiting.

dunad

I did get a few pics of the parent actually sticking its beak down the chicks’ necks, but they were either a bit out of focus or had the adult facing away from the camera and obscuring the action. Though I hope to get some more shots like this (using tripod and remote) so stay tuned.

Now, remember those lovely Greenfinch eggs from the last post?

Greeneggs

Well they all hatched into these little fluffballs!

greenchicks

But, I’m sorry to say, they didn’t make it. Got predated about four days after hatching…

Not to worry though! I found another Greenfinch nest just around the corner! It’s at a similar stage to the last and I was able to get this video of the hungry little guys waiting to be fed and trying to avoid the blazing sun. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Progress”

  1. Great camera work for the dunnock pic and I love the blue butterfly.
    Shame about those baby green finches but the new ones look very cute.

    Like

    1. Yes it is a shame, but a bird only needs to replace itself once to keep the population stable and most will have multiple broods every year of their adult life. And no, I didn’t make that word up! The word predation is quite commonly used in terms of biological interaction. Admittedly I haven’t seen it used much in the past tense, apart from in reference to nests…

      Like

Leave a Reply

