A Few Survivors

The nesting season is coming to a close. There are still nests out there to be found, some Wood pigeons will still be nesting come October! But as most birds have finished the job, and many are now with young, you may have noticed that everything’s a bit quieter and the birds have become more elusive.

It is at this time of year that many birders turn their attention to butterflies, moths and other insects. But before I get the moth trap out, I thought I’d round off the nesting posts with a few pics of some the nests I found this year where the young successfully fledged.
blabibur

Firstly, this Blackbird nest that I found back in May. I shared this photo of the eggs on a previous post but, with the trip to Scotland and other things to write about, I failed to keep my readers updated on the progress it made.

On my second visit to the nest the eggs had hatched and the chicks were looking very healthy at just under a week old.

blabiburgess2

The blue feather tracts with the coppery feather tips sprouting out looked particularly vibrant on the these guys. And on my final visit to the nest site I was happy to see fledged youngsters nearby and no damage to the nest. Good job guys!

You may remember these little Greenfinch chicks from the video I uploaded to a post a while back.

greenchick2
On my following visit to nest the chicks were all still there and beginning to look very grown up, starting to show their true colours!
greenchicks2

And, again, with my final visit to the nest site there were fledged young around the undamaged nest. Great news!

More recently, on a trip to visit my dad in Cornwall, we were hoping to locate the nest of a Reed bunting, which can be quite a challenge. Last year we were the only people in North Cornwall to monitor one.

My step-brother Jake joined us, as he has taken to doing since reading my blog! We set off relatively early after quite a raucous night-before, and arrived at a little known sight off of the A39 , which seems to only be visited by us and a local farmer who keeps a few sheep and bee hives nearby. The weather was fine and plenty of insects were buzzing about the wild-flower meadow, whilst we waited to hear the distinctive song of the male Reed bunting.

Over half an hour passed without a peep from the bird but we remained patient as Dad had said that this always happened, and usually the bird would start singing after he’d set off back to the car. And, sure enough, after a little more waiting the male began to sing from the hedgerow behind the boggy area at the bottom of the field.

We watched the male fly over the reed beds a few times and sing from different perches. His attention seemed to be directed to a particular patch so, as the female had not shown herself, we decided to check it out.

As we approached the area we heard a small fluttering of wings and saw a quick flash of brown, as the female flushed. Dad and I, having wellies, stepped into the bog and carefully searched any likely looking tussock of long grass or reeds. After a few moments of unfruitful searching we decided it would be a better idea to retreat and watch for the female to return to the possible nest, in order pinpoint a more exact location.
Thankfully she did return to the same area, and we were now confident that we knew exactly where the nest was… pretty much.

Dad, as he usually does, allowed me to go first and (hopefully) have the honour of finding the nest. Again, the female flushed. I got right down into the bog, being careful not to dangle my camera into the water, and carefully pulled apart the long grasses. I couldn’t see anything at first, and a low level of panic started settle over me. But after getting my head right in clump, and nearly toppling over in the process, the nest revealed itself to me.

reedbunting

Three intricately detailed eggs and two recently hatched chicks!

Finding them as they’re hatching feels very special, and it also makes for very good data! It allows you to quite accurately work out the date that the first egg was laid, which is more difficult if you’ve found the nest in the middle of incubation or once the chicks are older and less easy to age. Having the laying date for the first egg is significant when looking at the impacts of climate change.

Anyway, I’m on my way to Devon and Cornwall now to get some rare Pokémo… Oops! I mean butterflies and moths!

butterfree

Gotta catch ’em all!

 

One thought on “A Few Survivors”

Leave a Reply

